top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaryam Rahbar

Who am I and why am I doing this

Updated: Jul 16, 2019

My name is Maryam Rahbar and I am an embryologist.


Ever since I was a child, I was exposed to the field of fertility as my father was an expert in the field. He has his PhD in embryology and has been working for over 20 years with experience from 4 countries. I was always fascinated by the stories he would share from work. I thought to myself "his work is amazing, he is creating life".


The field fascinated me and as I embarked on my academic career, I became more and more interested. Completing my undergraduate degree at York University in Toronto, I mostly focused on courses dealing with reproduction and development. During this time I started working as a trainee embryologist and working my way up the career ladder. During the last year of my undergrad, I started looking at post graduate options and found the MSc in Clinical Embryology course at Oxford University where I studied for the next year and completed my masters.


I currently am working as an embryologist and see the many challenges couples have to overcome to achieve a pregnancy. I will be returning to Oxford to do my PhD in the field so that I have the appropriate qualifications to one day become a leader in the field of reproductive health.


I decided to start this blog as a way to spread awareness in the field of reproductive health, share personal experiences, and help make patient's journeys a little bit easier.




46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page